The Team


Kevin Brophy has had sixteen books published, including nine collections of poetry and four works of fiction. He lectures in creative writing at The University of Melbourne. From 1980 to 1994 he published and edited the lit journal Going Down Swinging. His latest book is Look at the Lake (Puncher & Wattmann, 2018).

Katia Ariel is a freelance editor. She has completed a Bachelor of Arts/Law at Monash University (2003), as well as a Graduate Diploma of Publishing and Editing at RMIT (2005). She works as a freelance proofreader, researcher and copy editor for numerous local book publishers. She enjoys scrawling the words of Rumi on her chalkboard, finding people to speak Portuguese with, gardening and cooking elaborate dishes in silence.

Eddie Paterson is a researcher, writer, poet and very occasional dramaturg. He lectures in creative writing: scriptwriting at The University of Melbourne. His latest book is redactor (Whitmore Press, 2017), which was shortlisted for the 2018 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Poetry and the 2018 John Bray Poetry Award.

Bella Li is a writer, editor and PhD candidate at the University of Melbourne. She is the author of Argosy (Vagabond Press, 2017), which won the 2018 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Poetry and the 2018 Kenneth Slessor Prize. Her latest book is Lost Lake (Vagabond Press, 2018).


Libby Austen has been a graphic artist for many years and worked at some of Melbourne’s top advertising agencies. Currently she teaches in the Graphic Design Department at Holmesglen TAFE, Chadstone.

SEO is by Optimising in Melbourne.



John Foulcher has been a teacher in NSW and the ACT. His work has been widely anthologised, and published extensively in national newspapers and journals, including the Age, the Bulletin, Quadrant, Poetry Australia and Overland.

New South Wales

Brook Emery’s latest book, Collusion (JLP, 2012), was shortlisted for the WA Premier’s Literary Awards. His first book, and dug my fingers in the sand, won the Judith Wright Calanthe Prize and it, along with Misplaced Heart and Uncommon Light, was shortlisted for the Kenneth Slessor Prize. Individual poems have won the Newcastle Poetry Prize and the Bruce Dawe Poetry Prize.


Zenobia Frost is an editor, poet and critic who, in addition to working with FIP, edits with Cordite Poetry Review and Voiceworks. She has performed nationally with the Arts Queensland Touring Poets Program and Queensland Poetry Festival Regional Roadshow. Zenobia is fiercely fond of Brisbane’s mettlesome approach to making art.


Lyn Hatherly (1945–2016) came to Five Islands Press as a poet, an academic, an editor and a classical scholar in 2001, assisting Ron Pretty through the last years of his directorship. From 2007 Lyn formed a group around her with the aim of continuing the history, spirit and publishing work of Five Islands Press. After an intense but short battle with cancer, Lyn died in March 2016. In her time with the new incarnation of the Press she worked on the expansion into e-books, the establishment of a new design for the Press, a new distribution partnership, and the recruitment of new editors. From 2007 to 2016 the Press published 29 new books by 27 Australian poets, plus an anthology of contemporary Chinese poetry in translation. As a publisher, editor, writer and teacher, Lyn Hatherly served Australian poetry with distinction, sophistication, dedication and calmness. All who worked with her came to love and depend upon her. Lyn has four published books: Acts of Abrasion (Five Islands Press, 2006), Sappho’s Sweetbitter Songs (Routledge, 1996), Songs of Silence (Medal Poets, 1994), and Many, and One (Five Islands Press, 2017).

Robyn Rowland, Dan Disney, Susan Fealy, Sandy Fitts, Jenna Shaw and Michael McKay were also valued contributors to the editorial team.